-> NEW SERVER IP: 94.23.196.155 - PRESS UPDATE BUTTON IN GAME TO REFRESH YOUR SERVER LIST <-

-> Get fix for server browser freeze caused by Gamespy shutdown here <-

Black screen since Windows 10 [Solved]

Discuss. About Battlefield. 1942 of course.

Black screen since Windows 10 [Solved]

Postby Horza » Mon May 30, 2016 9:06 am

Hi everyone, I have a little problem.
I was on Windows 8.1 on my Asus and since I have Windows 10, I have a big problem with Battlefiel 1942.
When I want connect myself on a server (aX :D ) one out of three times I have a black screen and I have to shut down my computer...
I play BF1942 on a cracked version and it worked very good before, maybe some lags like black screen but not very often...
And now I can't play online with the Add-on (cracked too) :/

I hope my english was good, I'm french :D

Thank you !
Last edited by Horza on Fri Jun 03, 2016 6:45 am, edited 2 times in total.
Horza
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2015 4:48 pm
Location: France

Re: Black screen since Windows 10

Postby somebody » Mon May 30, 2016 2:06 pm

I am playing this game on WinXP with 1GB ram only. I think the Window or game version is the problem. I kept the computer since 2005,lol
somebody
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 2:17 pm

Re: Black screen since Windows 10

Postby hanyweh » Tue May 31, 2016 2:42 pm

Have you tried to apply any compatibility mode to the exe file/shortcut (preferably win xp sp3). Windows 10 is the first cross platform OS of Microsoft (same OS works on mobile devices, pc and xbox and the software for them (games) is supposed to be interchangeable), so it may have lost some backward compatibility. I remember few year ago they said bf3 won't support windows XP. Now we may see the reversed scenario :)
hanyweh
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2016 7:27 pm

Re: Black screen since Windows 10

Postby Horza » Tue May 31, 2016 9:06 pm

Ahah yes, but I'm in a new house and I don't have my old computer since 10 years :)

Well of course I'm in compatibility XP 3 :/
And what about screen resolution 640*480 ? Or the color bit..

That's weird because on Windows 8-8.1 it worked normally...
After last year I couldn't play with new server, I just had to download a file to play online with new servers...
Horza
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2015 4:48 pm
Location: France

Re: Black screen since Windows 10

Postby s[sk] » Wed Jun 01, 2016 1:21 pm

you can try to apply this patch, it sets some compatibility stuff except fixing the master server issue

http://team-simple.org/download/battlef ... _v1.61.exe

if that doesn't help, try to upgrade your graphic card driver

btw, at what point you're getting that black screen? right at starting the game? when connecting to server? alt-f4 or ctrl-alt-del does nothing then?
s[sk]
 
Posts: 2137
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 2:33 pm

Re: Black screen since Windows 10

Postby Horza » Wed Jun 01, 2016 2:58 pm

When I'm connecting to the server, I can play solo with no problem. It's just online :/
I'll tell you if it's better with your patch, I often upgrade my graphic card
Horza
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2015 4:48 pm
Location: France

Re: Black screen since Windows 10

Postby s[sk] » Wed Jun 01, 2016 3:00 pm

try to set compatibility and run as admin on blackscreen.exe although i'm not sure whether it's used on map change or also when connecting
you can also try to set resolution to 800x600 which is the same as game menu runs in
s[sk]
 
Posts: 2137
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 2:33 pm

Re: Black screen since Windows 10

Postby Horza » Thu Jun 02, 2016 2:00 pm

Well I tried everything, doesn't work.
Maybe the cracked version with W10 is not the good relation...
Horza
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2015 4:48 pm
Location: France

Re: Black screen since Windows 10

Postby hanyweh » Thu Jun 02, 2016 3:27 pm

Try to sue microsoft :)
hanyweh
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2016 7:27 pm

Re: Black screen since Windows 10

Postby s[sk] » Thu Jun 02, 2016 3:32 pm

Horza wrote:Well I tried everything, doesn't work.
Maybe the cracked version with W10 is not the good relation...

i guess you'd stand no chance with retail cd version on win10 (all the unofficial patches are basically cracks since they include no-cd)

i have no computer with win10 (and frankly no one should) so i can't investigate it personally (and i'm afraid it's not just win10 but probably some combination of win10 and drivers/hw)

one more thing, try to create a new profile in the game and use that to connect

btw, i did see you in the game, was it a different computer?
s[sk]
 
Posts: 2137
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 2:33 pm

Next

Return to BF1942 Related Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: KA Towns and 1 guest